🔍 Read the full analysis: A Guide To ChatGPT Pro After OpenAI’s Limit Update on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month Pro plan and increased the shared ChatGPT Work and Codex allowance on its $100, $200 and $500 Pro plans. The changes took effect October 29, 2026; prices did not change, and several other limits remain unchanged.
OpenAI canceled a planned usage cut for its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased the shared Work and Codex allowance for Pro subscribers on its $100, $200 and $500 tiers. The changes took effect October 29, one day before the previously announced Pro 200 reduction was due, with monthly prices unchanged.
OpenAI’s October 29 release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The company also canceled the Pro 200 reduction announced in a September 29 email. OpenAI’s updated help page clarifies that on Pro 200, only subscribers who had the lower allowance receive a doubling; those already on the higher allowance keep it. The lower allowance now matches the higher one.
Work and Codex share an allowance, according to OpenAI’s pricing information. Work supports longer tasks such as research and document work, while Codex is the company’s coding agent. The added usage applies to that shared pool, not every ChatGPT limit. OpenAI says Plus usage and Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged. Pro 200’s lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit was raised to match the higher one. Ultrafast, a faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500.
OpenAI also says Business Premium seats get more usage, but its release note does not specify the size of the increase. An X post from OpenAI product executive Thibault Sottiaux described the change as doubling usage for Business Premium as well as all three Pro tiers. OpenAI’s help page is more specific about which limits changed, so the precise Business Premium increase is not established by the release note. Business Premium costs $100 per user per month with annual billing or $125 monthly, according to the source material. Plus, at $20 a month, is unchanged.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
How the New Limits Affect Subscribers
The change gives many paying users more capacity for longer work sessions and coding tasks without a price increase. For Pro 200 customers who were notified of a coming reduction, the reversal removes that planned cut; for customers on the lower allowance, it raises their Work and Codex capacity to the higher allowance level. OpenAI’s September scale described the Pro 200 allowance as 10 times Plus, while the higher allowance was 20 times Plus. The revised arrangement means the lower allowance matches that higher level, rather than every Pro 200 subscriber receiving a fresh doubling.
The practical effect depends on what a subscriber uses. More Work and Codex allowance does not mean twice as much output: OpenAI says usage varies by model, task and speed mode. Users should also distinguish this shared allowance from weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, which did not change on Pro 100 or Pro 500. For businesses, the update may affect seat planning, but the lack of a published Business Premium figure makes exact capacity planning harder.
Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Logitech MX Vertical Wireless Ergonomic Mouse – Graphite

Apple MacBook Pro 2021 16‑inch with M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, Space Gray (QWERTY English)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The September Plan Change
The reversal followed a series of changes to OpenAI’s paid plans. On September 10, the company paused new sign-ups for Pro 200. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux attributed demand pressure to interest in OpenAI’s GPT-6 Astra model, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That description was his characterization, not a usage figure published in the material provided.
On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. The company said included usage allowances were changing and that affected users would receive details by email, while the monthly Pro 200 price remained $200. Sottiaux described the tiers on X as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, adding that existing subscribers would keep the 20X multiplier “for a bit.” OpenAI’s October 29 update then canceled the planned Pro 200 reduction and increased Work and Codex usage on the other Pro tiers.
The initial announcement generated headlines saying OpenAI had doubled ChatGPT Pro limits. That wording needs qualification: the official release notes specify Work and Codex allowances, not every usage limit. The updated Pro help page provides the clearest distinctions between tiers and says existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal.
“We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X
OpenAI’s release note confirms that Business Premium usage is increasing, but it does not give a numerical allowance or multiplier. Sottiaux’s post says it is doubling, yet the company’s updated help page and release note do not provide a matching figure. The exact increase available to Business Premium customers therefore remains unclear from the official documentation cited here.
The source material also does not specify the amount of Work and Codex usage included in each plan in absolute units. OpenAI says usage varies by model, task and speed mode, and it does not say whether future allowances will remain fixed. The company did not list Business Standard, Go or Free in the October 29 update; that does not establish whether any other changes to those plans are planned.
Check Plan Details and Usage
OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, with no need to wait for their next renewal or take action. Subscribers can check their account’s usage page and the current Pro help information to see how the change applies to their tier. Business customers may need to confirm the applicable Premium allowance with OpenAI because the release note does not publish a figure.
Further clarification would be needed to establish the exact Business Premium increase and any absolute usage amounts by tier. Until OpenAI provides those details, users and organizations should treat the change as an increase to a particular shared allowance—not as a doubling of every ChatGPT limit or a guarantee of twice as much completed work.
Key Questions
What did OpenAI change on October 29?
OpenAI canceled the planned Pro 200 reduction and doubled the previous Work and Codex allowance for Pro 100 and Pro 500. On Pro 200, subscribers who had the lower allowance were moved up to match the higher allowance; those already on the higher allowance kept it.
Did every ChatGPT Pro limit double?
No. The stated doubling applies to the shared Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500, with a specific matching change for lower-allowance Pro 200 subscribers. Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged.
Did ChatGPT Pro prices change?
No price change is stated. The plans listed in the source material remain $100, $200 and $500 per month for Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500, respectively.
Does Business Premium usage double?
OpenAI confirms an increase but does not give a number in its release note. Sottiaux said in an X post that Business Premium usage would double, but the official release note does not specify the multiplier.
Do existing subscribers need to do anything?
No. OpenAI’s updated help page says existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
