🔍 Read the full analysis: How Siri’s New Memory Stacks Up Against The iPhone Duo’s Hinge Issues on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
Apple’s iOS 27.2 update lets Siri AI recall earlier conversations, use more personal context and support five additional languages, although it remains in beta and is unavailable in some markets. Separately, Apple confirmed an inner-display issue affecting a small number of iPhone Duo units and said AppleCare will replace affected devices; the cause has not been confirmed.
Apple’s iOS 27.2 update, released October 26, adds conversation memory and five languages to Siri AI, while Apple has also acknowledged an inner-display issue affecting a small number of foldable iPhone Duo units. The software update expands Apple’s AI features, but both Siri’s availability and the reported hardware fault remain limited in ways the company has not fully detailed.
According to Apple’s release notes, Siri AI can now recall earlier conversations, allowing users to refer back to recommendations or information from a previous exchange. The assistant can also use more personal context from sources such as voicemails, photos in Messages, Calendar attendees, and Safari history. A new Excluded Apps setting lets users control which apps Siri, Search and suggestions can access. Other additions include the ability to copy part of a Siri response and faster Apple Watch responses, Apple says.
French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish join English, with Apple promising four more languages by year-end. Siri AI remains labeled a beta. The source material says it is unavailable on iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch in the EU and mainland China, requires an iPhone 15 Pro or later supported device, and is not available to users under 13. Apple’s support page also says some server-based features have daily usage limits; the company has not published the limits or the price of a paid tier it says will be offered in the future.
On the hardware issue, Apple confirmed an inner-display problem in a small number of iPhone Duo units and said affected devices are being replaced through AppleCare. The source material does not include Apple’s statement in full or details on how many phones are involved. A hinge stress hotspot identified in an iFixit simulation is a possible explanation, not a confirmed cause.
A Broader Siri, With Limits
The update gives Siri a feature central to longer-running AI assistants: the ability to refer to what a user said earlier. Personal context could make the assistant more useful for follow-up tasks, while Excluded Apps gives users a single place to restrict access. But the software is still in beta, has geographic and device restrictions, and is subject to usage limits for some requests. Those conditions make the rollout narrower than the feature list alone suggests.
The juxtaposition with the Duo issue matters because Apple is expanding its software ambitions while introducing a new foldable device with a reported screen fault. Apple describes the issue as affecting a small number of units and offers AppleCare replacements, but the cause, scale and any wider repair implications are not established in the available information. Users should distinguish the company’s confirmed acknowledgment from theories about hinge stress.
Apple’s approach also differs from services that offer AI assistants through cloud platforms. The source material describes Siri as combining on-device processing with Apple’s Private Cloud Compute, while the underlying models are based partly on Google’s Gemini. That mix places privacy, model sourcing and access limits alongside capability as relevant questions for users and businesses evaluating Apple’s AI tools.
Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Apple MacBook Pro 14.2-inch with M5 Max, 18-Core CPU, 20-Core GPU, 48GB Memory, 2TB SSD, Space Black

Apple MacBook Pro 2021 16‑inch with M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, Space Gray (QWERTY English)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Siri Reached This Update
Siri AI launched with iOS 27 on September 14 as an English-only beta. Apple described it as a redesigned assistant with personal context, world knowledge and onscreen awareness, intended to carry out actions across apps. The October 26 release is its first substantial update, adding conversation recall and broader language support rather than removing the beta label.
Apple says smaller tasks run on the device and more demanding requests use Private Cloud Compute. In a January 12 joint statement, Apple and Google said the next generation of Apple Foundation Models would be based on Google Gemini models and cloud technology, while Apple Intelligence would continue to run on Apple devices and Private Cloud Compute. Claims about other cloud infrastructure are not confirmed in the supplied material.
The foldable iPhone Duo issue is distinct from the Siri release: Apple has acknowledged a problem with the inner display, but the available source does not establish a link to a particular software update or provide a detailed repair notice. An iFixit simulation reportedly showed a hinge stress hotspot, which remains a hypothesis rather than Apple’s stated diagnosis.
“The next generation of Apple Foundation Models will be based on Google’s Gemini models and cloud technology.”
— Apple and Google, in a joint statement dated January 12
Duo Cause and Siri Access
Apple has not publicly identified what causes the Duo’s inner-display issue, how many devices are affected beyond describing the number as small, or whether the problem requires any action from owners whose phones appear unaffected. The hinge stress hotspot comes from an iFixit simulation and is not a confirmed diagnosis. Details of the AppleCare replacement process are also absent from the supplied material.
For Siri, Apple has not published the daily usage caps or the cost of expanded access. The source material gives no further rollout schedule for the EU or mainland China, and it does not specify which four languages will be added by year-end. Siri’s beta status and regional availability should not be read as evidence that the restrictions will end on a particular date.
Repairs and Apple’s Next Briefing
Owners seeking help with an affected iPhone Duo can contact AppleCare, which Apple says is handling replacements. Any clearer view of the fault’s frequency or cause depends on further company guidance and reports from device testing; neither is established in the information available now.
Apple has confirmed a “Pro and tell” event for October 28. New Macs are rumored, but the source material does not confirm products or announcements beyond the event itself. Apple has also said four additional Siri languages are due by the end of 2026, while details on paid access and usage limits remain outstanding.
Key Questions
What changed in Siri AI with iOS 27.2?
Siri can now remember earlier conversations and draw on more personal information, including Calendar attendees and voicemails. The update also adds five languages and an Excluded Apps control.
Which new languages does Siri AI support?
Apple added French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish, alongside English. The company says four more languages will follow by the end of 2026 but has not named them in the supplied material.
What is the iPhone Duo display issue?
Apple says an inner-display issue affects a small number of iPhone Duo units and that AppleCare is replacing affected devices. The cause and exact number of phones involved have not been confirmed.
Is Siri AI available everywhere, and will it cost money?
No. The source material says Siri AI is unavailable on iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch in the EU and mainland China, and some server-based features have daily limits. Apple has announced a future paid option but has not disclosed its price.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
