How Grok Costs And OpenAI’s Rules Could Reshape AI Subscriptions
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: How Grok Costs And OpenAI’s Rules Could Reshape AI Subscriptions on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainably high relative to revenue, but gave no figures or details of any change. In the same week, OpenAI updated subscription-sharing limits and said some ChatGPT and Codex plans will share an allowance from December, signaling that flat monthly prices may increasingly come with usage controls.

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving **Grok Bot** was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI updated **ChatGPT subscription-sharing limits** and announced that some ChatGPT and Codex plans will use a shared allowance from December. The moves put renewed attention on how AI providers manage heavy use under **flat monthly subscriptions**, though neither company’s announcements establish that subscription pricing is ending.

Musk replied on X to a user asking for a Grok Bot reset after reports that users had run through their usage quickly. He gave no cost, revenue or margin figures and did not say whether xAI had changed the bot’s limits, pricing or reset schedule. His statement referred to Grok Bot, an AI agent, not Grok chat generally.

OpenAI’s help center says it limits how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought with one card or device. The policy covers Go, Plus and Pro plans; the help page, as described in the source material, does not give a numerical limit. Separately, OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business subscribers will draw on one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. The allowance is measured in tokens, while unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that shared meter.

OpenAI also changed allowances for some high-priced plans on Oct. 29. Its release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction for Pro 200 was cancelled. These increases and the later shared-meter announcement concern different parts of the service; they do not by themselves show that every subscriber’s total usage allowance has been cut.

At a glance
reportWhen: Developments reported Nov. 1, 2026; Ope…
The developmentMusk publicly cited Grok Bot’s costs, while OpenAI introduced subscription and allowance changes that put AI subscription limits in focus.
Crypto market snapshot
Fear & Greed Index
37/100 — Fear
Bitcoin BTC$77,922▲ 0.1%
Ethereum ETH$2,278▲ 0.4%
Tether USDT$0.999▼ 0.1%
BNB BNB$705.94▲ 0.1%
XRP XRP$1.25▼ 0.3%
USDC USDC$0.9995▼ 0.0%
Solana SOL$94.19▼ 1.3%
TRON TRX$0.315▲ 1.7%
Live data · CoinGecko · alternative.me (24h change)
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

Usage Meters Enter the Subscription Deal

The developments highlight a difference between a fixed monthly price and unlimited access. A subscriber may pay a flat fee while the amount of work included is capped, shared across products or measured by a usage pool. That matters more as AI products take on extended agent tasks, which can consume more computing resources than a short chat exchange.

For customers, the practical question is not only the listed monthly price but also which tools draw from the same allowance, how quickly different tasks use it, and what happens when the pool runs out. OpenAI’s changes make the shared nature of some usage explicit. Musk’s post suggests that Grok Bot’s operating costs were a concern relative to revenue, but it does not confirm a particular limit or a planned price change.

Businesses comparing AI services may need to examine both seat fees and usage rules before estimating costs. The source material argues for asking vendors for allowance and overage terms in writing; that is a practical implication, not a company announcement. AI subscriptions can remain available at set monthly prices while access within those plans is managed through meters and limits.

Products Worth Considering

Apple MacBook Pro 14 2021 with M1 Max, 64GB RAM, 2TB SSD, Silver

Apple MacBook Pro 14 2021 with M1 Max, 64GB RAM, 2TB SSD, Silver

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Apple MacBook Air 13-inch with M5 chip, 16GB memory, 1TB SSD, and 12MP Center Stage camera (Midnight)

Apple MacBook Air 13-inch with M5 chip, 16GB memory, 1TB SSD, and 12MP Center Stage camera (Midnight)

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Recent Changes at OpenAI and xAI

OpenAI launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan in December 2024, advertising unlimited access to its best models. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because users were using them more than expected. That earlier comment provides context for current cost concerns, but it does not establish that the new policies were caused by the same factors.

xAI launched its X Subscription on Oct. 12, 2026, according to the source material. Its pricing page lists Grok Bot as part of Premium at $30 a month, Super at $100 and Ultra at $200, but not Free or Plus. The bot’s use comes from a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and models in the Cursor coding tool, according to xAI’s pricing information cited by the source.

xAI describes Grok Bot usage as based on agent steps and tokens, rather than simply the number of messages. OpenAI’s published rate information also indicates that different models can consume allowances at different rates. Those details help explain why providers may meter use differently, but they do not reveal either company’s actual per-customer costs or subscription margins.

““The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.””

— Elon Musk, replying to a user on X on Nov. 1, 2026

Costs and Limits Remain Unspecified

Musk did not disclose Grok Bot’s costs, revenue or margins, nor say what changed before his post. He did not announce a new usage cap, a reset, a price adjustment or a change to the weekly pool. The past-tense wording “was” prompted some reports to infer that a cost change had already occurred; that interpretation is not a specific confirmation from Musk.

The source material says other outlets reported a post from Grok’s official account attributing “adjusted allocations” to costs and referring to a dashboard fault that temporarily displayed usage as too high. The article’s author said they could not locate that post, so those details remain reported but unverified here.

OpenAI’s help page does not state the numerical card or device limits in the supplied account of the policy. It is also not clear how the shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance will work for every task, how subscribers will see consumption in practice, or whether further changes will follow. Neither development confirms that flat-rate AI subscriptions as a category are ending.

December Brings the Shared Allowance

OpenAI says the shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans will begin in December. Subscribers will be able to see how ChatGPT and Codex usage draws from that pool through the company’s usage information, according to the help-center details cited by the source material. The specific experience and any exceptions may depend on the plan and product.

For Grok Bot, the next concrete development would be an xAI explanation of whether its weekly pool or other access rules have changed. Musk’s post did not provide a date for a reset or a new policy. Until the companies publish more detail, customers and business buyers can confirm current plan terms and monitor usage, while treating any claims about unannounced caps or future prices as unconfirmed.

Key Questions

Did Elon Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?

No. Musk said serving Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but did not announce a new limit, reset, price or change to its weekly usage pool.

Which OpenAI plans will share ChatGPT and Codex usage?

OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use one shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. The allowance is measured in tokens; unlimited “Instant” chats are outside that meter, according to the supplied help-center details.

Did OpenAI reduce all Pro usage limits?

No such blanket reduction is established in the source material. OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned cut to Pro 200 was cancelled. The shared allowance is a separate change.

Does this mean AI subscriptions will no longer have flat monthly prices?

No. The developments point to more explicit usage rules within some subscriptions, not an end to flat monthly pricing. The companies have not announced that their subscription models are being replaced.

Why can one AI task use more allowance than another?

Providers may measure usage by tokens, model selection or agent steps rather than message count alone. xAI says Grok Bot consumption depends on the kind of task and the effort it requires; the precise cost of individual tasks is not disclosed here.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Nothing in this article is financial or investment advice. Cryptocurrency and precious-metal investments carry significant risk — do your own research and consider a licensed advisor.
You May Also Like

Why Modern Firewalls Matter for Crypto Home Labs

Knowledge of modern firewalls is crucial for crypto home labs, as they unlock advanced security features essential to staying ahead of cyber threats.

What Is Layerzero

Beneath the surface of blockchain technology lies LayerZero, a revolutionary protocol that promises seamless communication; discover its potential and challenges ahead.

Should You Use Mistral Forge? A Buyer’s Decision Guide

A comprehensive guide to help organizations determine if Mistral Forge suits their needs, covering use cases, benefits, red flags, and alternatives.

The Office Gear Mistake That Exposes Private Financial Data

Narrowly leaving sensitive financial documents or devices unsecured can jeopardize your data; discover essential tips to prevent this common office mistake.